The Plan

The year is going to be pretty crazy, but I’m excited for it. Here’s what it looks like right now, but up until now the plans have evolved every couple of days, so don’t expect it to be final!

NEPAL from September 9th to 27th (2 1/2 weeks). I’ll be hiking the Annapurna Base Camp Trail in the Himalayas, which is a beautiful trail that’s well-traveled and goes through mountain villages on the way up to the base camp of Annapurna, the 10th highest peak in the world. I’m traveling with Ellen, a friend who’s taking a gap year and then going to UNC as well. We’ll stay in tea houses each night in the villages and trek each day.

KENYA from September 27th to December 1 (2 months). There’s a school near Nanyuki, Kenya called Daraja Academy with which my school has a partnership. It’s an all-girls boarding school giving free secondary education to girls who otherwise would not have the chance of further education. Each volunteer must propose a project, so I hope to be working on environmental education as a continuation of an “Earth and Me” seminar that some of the girls attended over break. Hopefully, we will design a 10/10/10 event (look it up if you haven’t heard of it, it’s pretty cool!) together… I’m sure there’s something creative we can think of specific to the school and the environment there.

Home for the month of December!

ARGENTINA from mid-January to mid-April (3 months). I’ll spend a few weeks traveling and seeing family, then spend the rest of the time WWOOFING. WWOOF stands for World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms, and through them, I’ll get matched up with a farm that I can work on in exchange for accommodation and food. I would especially love to work on a farm with animals, since that’s how my grandmother grew up.

I’m not sure what I’ll do after that… I might hike a month of the Appalachian Trail, or I might try to volunteer at an archaeological excavation. If you have any other ideas let me know. Something different, hopefully, and challenging too.

I’ll update this blog as often as possible, and feel free to comment or email back… I would love to hear from everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Plan

  1. Patricia Went says:

    We did it! I’m so happy that your plan is coming to fruition! You know that you can depend on us for lots of prayers, good wishes, and and maybe even an idea or two. It was great to talk to you yesterday, and we wish you Happy Early Birthday as well. Love, G and G

  2. Carmen Simpson says:

    Querida Cora,
    Mis mejores deseos para un año excepcional, interesante, lleno de aventuras imaginables y también ‘inimaginables’, pero buenas.
    Mucho éxito en tus vagabundeos mundiales.
    No puedo dejar de pensar que en alguna forma el gen aventurero de mi abuelo materno Emilio Saner, encontró un albergue en ti!
    Una abrazo muy grande, con amor,

    Meiti

  3. helen powell says:

    cora!
    i just found the link to your blog on facebook. i have had an absolutely wonderful time reading about some of your adventures thus far. keep up the great work…this year is going to be so awesome for you! can’t wait to see you in the fall!
    helen powell

Leave a Reply

